Looking for an inspection station in your area? >>Click here<<
Things you may not have thought to
Definition of a motorcycle – Every motor vehicle having a saddle for the use of the
rider and designed to propel itself with not more than three (3) wheels in contact with the ground but excluding a tractor.
Definition of a moped – A motor driven cycle whose speed attainable in one mile is not
more than 30 miles per hour and that is equipped with a motor that produces not more than two-brake horsepower. If an internal combustion engine is used, the piston displacement may not exceed 50 cubic centimeters and
the power drive system may not require the operator to shift gears.
Driver’s license for a moped – A moped operator’s
license is required for operators of mopeds. A person must be at least fifteen (15) years old to be issued a license
to operate a moped. The department shall examine applicants for that type of license by administering to them a written examination
concerning traffic laws applicable to the operation of mopeds. No test involving the operation of the vehicle is required.
All applicable provisions of this Act governing restricted operator’s licenses for the operation of motorcycles only
also apply to moped operator’s licenses, including provisions relating to the application, issuance, duration, suspension,
and cancellation of those licenses.
Texas Law requires the following equipment on Motorcycles and Motor
|1. Wheel Assembly
8. Motorcycle, Serial, or, Vehicle Identification Number
|2. Exhaust System
|3. Tail Lamp (1)
|4. Stop Lamp (1)
|5. License Plate Lamp
|6. Rear Red Reflector
|7. Head Lamp (1)
Texas Law requires the following equipment on Mopeds
||3. Head Lamp|
||4. Rear Lamp|
These are just minimum requirements. To survive in traffic,
you should have a mirror on each side. It is also a good idea to have additional reflectors on the motorcycle.
Helmets and Passengers. Helmets meeting the Federal
Motor Vehicle Safety Standard #218 (FMVSS-218) are required for a motorcycle operators and passengers. Persons at least 21
years old are exempt from wearing a helmet if they have completed a Department-approved motorcycle operator training course
or they are covered with at least $10,000 in medical insurance. Persons operating or riding upon a motorcycle with a helmet
exemption sticker displayed are presumed to meet the helmet exemption requirements.
Helmets should also:
- Fit snugly
- Be securely fastened when riding
- Be free of defects such as cracks, loose padding, frayed straps, or exposed
A motorcycle operator cannot carry a passenger unless the
motorcycle is equipped with a permanent passenger seat.
LICENSING AND OPERATION
Adult Motorcycle Operator Licensing
The operator of a motorcycle on a public roadway must hold
a valid motorcycle license (Class M Driver License). This requirement also applies to operators of scooters.
To receive a license to operate a motorcycle, applicants
must pass a written test covering traffic laws pertaining to motorcycles, and a road test. The road test may be waived.
Road Test and Waiver Information
In order to take a road test, applicants must have their
own motorcycle and provide a passenger vehicle and a licensed driver to drive the examiner during the road test. The vehicle
owners must show proof of liability insurance for both vehicles and must pass an on-site safety inspection.
An applicant who has passed a Department of Public Safety
approved basic motorcycle operator training course, and has an unrestricted (not an instructional permit) class A, B, or C
license, can present a an MSB-8 completion certificate and receive a waiver of the road test.
Requirements for Licensing Minors
Texas law requires that minors, ages 15 through 17 pass
a basic motorcycle operator training course approved by the Department of Public Safety before applying for a motorcycle license.
Before taking the course, minors must have successfully completed the classroom phase of a driver education course. A minor
must present the MSB-8 before testing for a motorcycle license.
Minors over the age of 16 who already have an unrestricted
Class A, B, or C driver license are eligible for a road test waiver. Minors under the age of 16 can only be licensed to ride
a motorcycle with no more than 250cc piston displacement. This restriction is indicated by the restriction code "I" on the
driver’s license. After the person reaches the age of 16, the 250cc restriction may be removed.
Mopeds. The operator of a moped must hold a valid
license as a moped operator (Class M driver license with a restriction code of "K"). A moped is defined as a motor driven
cycle that cannot exceed 30 mph, does not have an engine larger than 50cc, and does not have manual gear shifting. Applicants
for a moped operator’s license must be at least 15 years old. The licensing requirements involve a written examination
on traffic laws that apply to the operation of mopeds. No road test involving the operation of a moped is required.
Registration. Every owner of a motor vehicle, including
motorcycles, motor scooters, and mopeds that will be ridden on public roadways, must register their vehicle through the County
Tax Collector in their county of residence. A license plate must be attached to the rear of the vehicle, and must include
a sticker showing current registration.
Inspection. All motor vehicles registered in Texas,
including motorcycles, motor scooters, and mopeds, must be inspected each year at an official motor vehicle inspection station.
When the motorcycle passes inspection, an approved certificate must be placed near the rear license plate. These certificates
are good for one year from the month of inspection.
Insurance. All motor vehicle operators must show
proof of liability insurance when the vehicle is registered or inspected, or when getting an operator license.
Motorcycle Skills Test Waiver
The Department of Public Safety waives the riding skills test for some motorcycle driver’s license applicants. To
qualify for a waiver applicants must have a current Class A, B, or C driver’s license, and successfully complete a Department
of Public Safety Approved Basic Motorcycle Operator Training Course.
Those applicants who do not qualify for a riding test waiver, or who do not wish to attend a Basic Motorcycle Operator
Training Course, must undergo a three step testing process to obtain a motorcycle driver’s license. The tests are a
knowledge test, a vision test, and a riding skills test.
The riding skills test requires that the applicant provide a motorcycle, a passenger vehicle, and a driver for the passenger
vehicle. Both vehicles must be properly registered, insured, inspected, and pass an on-site safety inspection.
For more information about the skills test waiver please call Motorcycle Safety Unit toll free at 1-800-292-5787
To find a course near you the MSF site will be helpful
Motorcycle Safety Foundation
DRIVER LICENSE FEE TEXAS
(under 18 yrs of age)
(18 yrs of age and above)
Add appropriate Driver/Commercial
license renewal fee
Expires on next birthday
Expiration 6 years
|Does not affect current expiration date|